Blackened Cajun Chicken Sandwich

Blackened Cajun Chicken Sandwich on fresh bread

Blackened Cajun Chicken Sandwich on fresh bread

A Blackened Cajun Chicken Sandwich is so tasty and when you place it on fresh bread it’s just that much better! To round out this meal add a side of home cooked potatoes and a side of veggies from the freezer and you will be set to stimulate those taste buds.

I had leftover homemade french bread from the day before but only had enough for one sandwich. So not to be selfish I made a new loaf but this time I went with a Honey Oatmeal Bread from my bread machine book cooking it completely in the bread machine. I just LOVE the smell of bread baking! It’s just so easy to make with a bread machine I am surprised more people don’t make it.

I just love the smell of bread!

I just love the smell of bread!

When I first started thinking about Blackened Cajun Chicken I had no idea what spice combination I should use. I knew the basics which is most of the ingredients below with the exception of the Thyme Leaves which I found while researching Cajun spices. The blend below is what I came up with for the 20 oz of chicken thighs. The amount and taste was spot on! All you do is put all the spices into a small dish and blend well.

The spice of life

The spice of life

DSC00754

Blend me now!

Ingredients for the chicken:

  • 20 oz of Chicken Tighs
  • 1/4 tsp. Fresh ground Black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. Paprika
  • 1/4 tsp. Cayenne
  • 1/4 tsp. Garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp. Onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp. White pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. Oregano
  • 1/4 tsp. Thyme Leaves
  • 1/4 tsp. Salt
  • Topped with Olive Oil Mayo

Once the spices are blended well sprinkle both sides of the chicken well. In a cast iron skillet heated to a medium high heat cook the chicken for about 10 minutes flipping halfway through. Make sure there is no pink inside!

Spice me up!

Spice me up!

Cook me til I am a little blacken.

Cook me til I am a little blacken.

All done now put me on some bread with mayo!

All done now put me on some bread with mayo!

Once done put it on a piece of fresh bread with a bit of olive oil mayo.

On bread with oh so good olive oil mayo.

On bread with oh so good olive oil mayo.

2 thoughts on “Blackened Cajun Chicken Sandwich

  1. Your sammy looks fantastic. I used to love to eat a blackened snapper sandwich at a corner restaurant in Sacramento. I will have to use your recipes as we eat chicken thighs a couple times a week in my household. Happy blogging and thanks for visiting my site.

Leave a Reply

