Chicken Parmesan Panini

Chicken Parmesan Panini oh so good.

Chicken Parmesan Panini oh so good.

I wanted a sandwich but not just any sandwich it had to be extra tasty. I had some leftovers from my Skillet Chicken Parmesan meal so what better to do then chop of the chicken and compress it into a sandwich. The problem is I did not have a Panini maker. So what to do, make something that creates the same results! With two hot pans and an oven I created my own. I wanted the lines on the sandwich so I pulled out my gill pan.

Check out those ridges!

Check out those ridges!

I did not have another pan with ridges so I had to settle for my heavy cast iron skillet.

Heavy iron skillet to be heated.

Heavy iron skillet to be heated.

In order to make the crispy compressed sandwich I heated the oven to 450 F and put the iron skillet in there to heat up as well. Next up build the sandwich. I started with homemade french bread buttering the outside to help it brown.

Butter me!

Butter me!

Of course you need more the just butter so I added the chopped chicken and provolone cheese.

Give me some chicken and cheese please.

Give me some chicken and cheese please.

It can’t be a Chicken Parmesan  Panini if it does not have spaghetti sauce.

Give me some sauce.

Give me some sauce.

In order to help speed things up I put the sandwiches on the ridged pan then heated it for a few minutes.

Pre-heat me

Pre-heat me

Next up put the foil on top of the sandwiches to help keep the iron skillet clean then put this setup into the oven then top it all off with the heavy very hot iron skillet and bake for about 10 minutes until a crispy golden brown.

My tin foil hat

My tin foil hat

You can't see this well but this in the ridged skillet, the sandwiches, foil then iron skillet.

You can’t see this well but this in the ridged skillet, the sandwiches, foil then iron skillet.

 

It’s done!

All done!

All done!

Leave a Reply

