Wheat deep dish pizza. In an iron skillet!

I love pizza and so does my entire family but I did not want the white crust, I wanted wheat. So without further delay come along for the adventure.

Pizza of course!

Pizza of course!

I am not sure if this is cheating or not but I had the bread machine make the dough for me. I also used the recipe from the book that came with the machine. After the finishing beep I walked over to the machine pulled out the container and dumped it on a floured surface. I kneaded it for about a minute, formed a tight ball then waited for 15 minutes.

DSC00619

After the wait it’s time to roll the dough. Because I made a double batch I partially split the dough ball with a  dough slicer. My end result will be a large and small pizza.

DSC00620

On a floured surface, hands and rolling pin start rolling from the center of the dough ball in all directions. Keep doing this until you have a nice round flat shape that is a few inches larger then the iron skillet you plan on using. What I do to find the proper size is just put the iron skillet on top of the rolled dough.

DSC00621 DSC00622 DSC00623

Next up make sure you have a coating of oil inside the iron skillet. This will help brown up and give the bottom and sides of the crust a nice soft crunch. Now place the dough inside the iron skillet and form a raised edge around the entire pizza crust.

DSC00627

Now it’s time for the crust to rise in a warm place for 20 to 25 minutes. What I like to do is turn on the oven to the lowest setting and once the oven reaches the temperature I turn it off and put it in the oven to rise.

Next up remove the skillet with risen dough from the oven and preheat the oven to 450 F.

Time for the toppings! I start with store bought sauce but you can of course make your own which is much better BTW. You don’t want to much sauce or to little.

DSC00632

Now for the rest of the toppings. This time around I am using pepperoni, leftover steak burgers I made the other day that I sliced up, and black forest  ham. Then add that grated mozzarella cheese but not too much as you don’t want your pizza to heavy. Then top again with just a bit more pepperoni and some dried oregano.

Here is a very important part. Put the pizza on the stove and cook on high for a few minutes. Yes the stove. This will help heat up that heavy iron skillet and help brown the bottom of the pizza. Now you can put it in the oven and let it cook until the cheese is a golden bubbling brown. I would start with ten minutes then check it every minute or two after that.

DSC00633 DSC00634 DSC00636

When it’s done take it out of the oven and let it cool down in the skillet for about five minutes before slicing. Oh this looks so good and it was! My family said comments like “Did you call heaven for takeout”. “How do you keep topping your self?” , and “This is amazing!”.

Almost time to eat!

Almost time to eat!

2 thoughts on “Wheat deep dish pizza. In an iron skillet!

Leave a Reply

